Isle of Wight Cricket

ECB Governance Changes

For older news stories please visit the news archive page

ECB set to introduce a fully independent Board after winning game-wide approval for far-reaching governance reforms

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced its membership had unanimously approved significant governance reforms – paving the way for the creation of a fully independent Board next year.

All 41 members approved a series of changes to the ECB’s Articles of Association which will include the ECB’s Board reducing in size from 13 directors to 12 with effect from next May’s Annual General Meeting.

The far-reaching changes, which follow a review led by the Board’s Deputy Chairman, Ian Lovett, mean ECB will exceed the minimum standard required for national governing bodies set out in Sport England’s recently published Code for Sports Governance.

Board Composition

Under the new arrangements, the ECB’s new 12-strong Board will comprise three different categories of Director:

All the non-executive Directors will be appointed for terms of three years and will be able to hold office for a maximum of three terms. The Chair will be appointed for a single term of up to five years with the CEO and CFO serving as ex-officio members for the duration of their tenure.


The recruitment process for the new positions will begin immediately with ECB committed to ensuring at least 30 per cent of Board Directors are female as part of its support for gender diversity


Board members whose terms of office expire before the next AGM or whose roles are affected by the changes to the Articles of Association will be required to stand down in due course.


Commenting on the changes, ECB Chairman Colin Graves said: “These are ground-breaking changes to our governance which have been based on extensive consultation with all our stakeholders across the professional and recreational game.


“They will help make the Board more representative of the whole game, embracing a broader and more diverse mix of independent voices as well as drawing on the experience and expertise of those working within the cricket network.


“My sincere thanks to our Deputy Chairman, Ian Lovett, for overseeing such a thorough and comprehensive review process and winning unanimous, game-wide approval for these important and necessary reforms.


“They are fundamentally important to the future of our game; reflecting ECB’s broader desire to modernise structures, improve strategic decision-making and give cricket the best possible platform for continued growth.”



Notes to editors:


  1. ECB Membership: The 41 members of the ECB are the Chairmen of the 39 First Class and Non-First Class Counties together with the Chairman of the MCC and the Minor Counties Cricket Association.
  2. Current ECB Board: The ECB Board is currently comprised of a Chairman, President, Chief Executive Officer, three independent members, two appointees from the Recreational Game, a representative of MCC and four representatives from the First Class Game.
  3. ECB Nominations Committee: ECB will also be reconstituting its Nominations Committee following the changes agreed to the Articles of Association and in line with the requirements of the Sport England Code for Sports Governance. The Nominations Committee, which appoints all Board and the members of all key Board Committees, will be comprised of the ECB Chairman, the senior independent non-executive Director, two independent non-executive Directors, and one external independent member.
web design by island webservices