Isle of Wight Cricket

Friend Smashes Island To Victory

For older news stories please visit the news archive page

Tom Friend's unbeaten 127 for the Isle of Wight Cricket Board's Senior Team lead to a 9 wicket victory over the MCC in the annual fixture played at Newclose CCG

After an half an hour delay to the start due to a wet outfield the MCC got their innings off to a slow start as the Islands opening bowlers Charlie Calloway and Adam Wilson both kept it tight and restricted the batman's scoring chances.

A change of bowling brought the first wicket as Stuart Robertson trapped Graham LBW for 5. Billy Root came to the crease and took up from where he finished the last time he batted at Newclose (Century for the MCC Young Cricketers in 2013) and started to pile the runs on as he put together a useful partnership with Miller worth 103 runs. Miller was eventually removed just short of his 50 caught behind by Toby Corbin of the off spin bowling of Ben Herridge. Billy was then joined by his dad Matthew at the crease and both started to look to add quick runs until Matthew was caught in the deep by Adam Wilson off Robertson's bowling for his second wicket. The MCC innings was brought to an end once Billy had reached his century (103no) which he did off 155 balls.

The target set for the Island was 198 which looked challenging as the openers made there way to the middle after tea. But Man of the Match, Tom Friend continued his great early season form and started to make quick in roads into the total, scoring regular boundaries. Ben Duggan watch for large parts from the other end but slowly added runs until he reach a well deserved and put together half century. Friend didn't slow up scoring, even when Duggan was removed for 51 and Ben Herridge (11no) joined him. Tom reached his century in fitting fashion as he smashed the ball for six. He then went onto finish the game by hitting his 17th four of an outstanding innings as he finished on 127no off 67 balls, hitting 17 fours and 4 sixes. and leading the Island to it first win since 2008.

Island Team
Back Row (L-R) Josh Procter, Hugh Calloway, Tom Friend, Charlie Calloway
Middle Row (L-R) Stuart Robertson, Adam Wilson, Ben Herridge
Front Row (L-R) Harry Bradley, Toby Corbin, Mark Holmes (Capt) Ben Duggan
web design by island webservices