Isle of Wight Cricket

Newport one win away from another indoor title

For older news stories please visit the news archive page

14 Dec 2014 Newport will claim their third indoor league title in four years with a win over Ryde in their next game after proving too strong for Island Bakeries on Sunday evening. Newport made 157-4 from their 12 overs, thanks mainly to Louis Payne (57*) and Gareth Bricknell (45*), Murray Jones (2-30) the pick of the bowlers. In reply, a Bakeries win never looked likely and they finished on 72-5 with Payne taking 2-18. Ryde were also victorious, beating Niton by four wickets. Joby Wells led the way for Niton with 29 as they posted 124-4, Mark Oatley with 3-47 for Ryde. Oatley (35*), Stuart Robertson (29*) and Josh Procter (29*) all retired for Ryde in a comfortable chase, Ryde getting home in the 11th over. Northwood were the other winners in Division 1, winning in the last over for the second week running. Alan Johns (45) and Mark Hartnell (31) started well for East Cowes but four run outs and 1-19 from Ashley Goldsmith saw them bowled out for 122. Rob Holdcroft (3-51) took three wickets for East Cowes in the Northwood chase but Goldsmith (32*) and Pete Hayward (26) helped get their side over the line with two wickets and four deliveries remaining.

Shanklin remain top of Division 2 after beating East Cowes by four wickets. Dan Cox (27*) top-scored for East Cowes, who made 120-3 from their 12 overs. In reply, Matt Lambourne (25*) led the way for Shanklin who reached their target in the 10th over. A much-changed Ryde II side proved too strong for Newport II. Calvin Dickinson (29*), Pete Dickinson (27*), Cameron Mitchell (26*) and Jonty Leggett (25*) all retired as Ryde II totalled 140-1. Mike Watson (25*) continued his run of form, but Newport II fell 41 runs short on 99-2. Godshill defeated Ryde Cavaliers in a low-scoring match by five wickets. Harry Roberts (25*) and Ollie Niemiec (21*) top-scored for Cavaliers who posted 106-2. The chase was never really in doubt for Godshill, Jez Robinson (26*), Jim Winter (24) and Phil Mew (21*) getting their side home with an over remaining. IW Prison Officers were the final winners, beating Northwood by two wickets. Alex Oliver (2-22) and Steve Rowe (2-26) did the damage with the ball, but Ben Baker (31) and Matt Gane (26) helped Northwood II recover to 111 before being bowled out. In the chase, Oliver again proved the difference, making an unbeaten 31 as IW Prison Officers passed the target with nine balls remaining.
web design by island webservices