Isle of Wight Cricket


For older news stories please visit the news archive page

Ryde confirmed themselves as the current top indoor team by winning the Leslies Motors Indoor Cup last Sunday. Played at Cowes Enterprise College’s Winder Centre, the 2017 cup winners overcame Island Bakeries to hold on to the trophy.

The first semi-final saw Island Bakeries (119-3) overcome Ryde School (118-4).Despite Henry Edwards’ hard hitting 55 not out for the Scholars, Bakeries’ were always ahead of the asking rate thanks to their opening pair of Ellis Ridett (41 not out) and Matt Webb (26 not out) and they comfortably saw their side through to their first ever indoor cup final.

In order tojoin Bakeries in the final, Ryde had to overcome EPP in a nail-biting contest which saw both sides hit the same score. Ryde’s 118-3 was dominated by the experienced pair of Dave Pratt (31 not out) and Simon Wratten (25 not out) but the target looked well within EPP’s grasp as Ross Whyte (29) and Ben Attrill with 28 not out took EPP to the brink of victory. The game turned on the last ball of the match which saw Whyte caught by wicketkeeper Pratt to give Ryde their 4th wicket with the scores level and grab their spot in the final by losing one less wicket.

The final proved slightly easier for Ryde, partly thanks to the high number of extras (55) conceded by the Bakeries bowlers. These bonus runs, together with solid not out scores from Stuart Robertson (25), Mark Oatley (46) and Simon Wratten (27) helped Ryde (174-2) set a target which was always going to prove a big challenge. Matt Webb with 48 and Tom Marriott (22) fought hard but the Bakers fell short on 144-6.

IW Cricket Board Director, Martyn Richards, congratulated Ryde on their success and presented the trophy to their captain Simon Wratten.

This Sunday (4th) sees the start of both Div 1 and 2 of the Indoor League with the following games taking place:

EPP v Shanklin &Godshill 1 – Div 1 (5pm)

Northwood v Brading – Div 1 (6pm)

Shanklin &Godshill 2 v Ryde School – Div 2 (7pm)

Prison Officers v Ryde – Div 1 (8pm)

Newport v Island Bakeries – Div 2 (9pm)

web design by island webservices