Isle of Wight Cricket

Webby Wins Colt of the Year

For older news stories please visit the news archive page

Mat Webb won the main prize of colt of the year at the Island county age group presentation evening at Newclose last Friday evening. He was presented with the Bill & Val Palmer Memorial Trophy by David Griffith the evening guest.

There were two new awards presented on the night the first was the Will Luckett Cup for Contribution Off the Field which was awarded to Ben Baker for scoring for the Under 17s all year.

The second award the Ann Bryant Memorial shield was award to the the Young Achiever of the year. This went to Mackenzie Wright for her outstanding enthusiasm and displays on and off the field.

The rest of the nights age group winners are below

Bowler - Zeph Wells
Batter - Rory Buckeridge
Fielder - George Griffith
Player of the Year - Rory Buckeridge
Golden Moment - The Team for the win against Surrey. Chasing down a target of 184 to win the game.

Bowler - Dan Cox
Batter - John Buckman
Fielder - Joe Butcher
Golden Moment - The whole team for the win against Wiltshire

U15 - Sponsored by James Thorn & Co
Bowler - Kyle Blair
Batter - Ben Duggan
Golden Moment - Marcus Horton (98 against Berkshire)

U17s -Sponsored by Vikoma
Bowler - Matthew Webb
Batter - Harry Collier
Fielder - Stuart Robertson
Golden Moment - Ben Duggan (162 off 200 balls v Gloucestershire)
Player of the Year - Jadon Buckeridge

The Isle of Wight Board would like to congratulate all the winners on the evening and thank all the team managers, parents and players for they support through out the season.

The Board would welcome applications from new and present players for the winter county training programme that starts the week beginning the 4th November.

County Application Form
web design by island webservices